Procrastination & Reflection

Image

 www.thepossibleself.com

It’s a dullish day on the Riviera today.  The fisherman is back in his spot on the Mediterranean and the pleasure boats are beginning to drop anchor messing up my vista.  It’s a wonder and a joy to watch the light move over the bay during the seasons.  I think I love it most when there are no pleasure boats.  I like to see the fishing boats and small yachts cruise their way in and out of the port.  Sails are so much more beautiful and kinder to the atmosphere too.  There are all kinds of people in our world and we got to live together as best we can, motors and sails alike!

Coffee would be delicious this am, so delicious and all as the memory is I will abstain.

Today is the last blog on procrastination!

Are there times that procrastination is really healthy?  A friend commented that it’s a time when we make the wrong decisions; we then do the big ‘P’ on them until we are urged to follow through.  I have said yes when I wish I hadn’t at times, and then I drag my heels on following through.  I go back and say I made the wrong decision and apologize for misleading folk.  Or, I end up following through for all the wrong reasons or sometimes they end up being the right reasons too.  Sometimes it’s ok to procrastinate and other times it creates a hell of a mess; action speaks louder than words and all that!

There are all kinds of friendships and relationships and procrastination reaps havoc on them at times.

“You said you would do that for me and you didn’t, so you don’t love me or care for me.”

“You promised you would teach me to play the guitar, dive, cook, show me how to use the computer, raise funds for a project, how to drive, how to learn Dutch and you never have:”

“I will do; that when I get my next wage packet, when I lose weight, when we make up, when I feel better, when I find the right man or woman, when I get promoted, when I have a wind-fall, when I am forty, when I retire, when I get the children through college, when I get the dishes done, when I sell the house, when I am in Jamaica, when I am married, when I have a partner, when I leave my partner, when I join the club, when the rest of my life is good, ok or in a better place etc.”

On and on goes the list of ‘when I’ rather than ‘I am doing!

Procrastination goes on like that until there is a big argument and out comes all the promises you made to each other and the disappointments mount up and resentment gets fed instead of love etc.

Do we procrastinate because we know in our hearts of hearts that making that person or persons happy will make ourselves miserable or feel absolutely wonderful, or that you have had enough pleasing everyone else and it’s time to take control of your own life and not be led by others.  Times when you are keeping the company board of directors happy but you know what they are doing and it’s going to harm others.  Remember the movie where Russell Crowe is the scientist in the cigarette company and he knows they are adding an addictive chemical to cigarettes, which isn’t lawful.  He procrastinated for most of the film on going public or not.  He had a moral conscience that haunted him and in the end caused him to lose his family, some friends, his job etc.  Going public with the story after all that procrastination introduced him to the man he wanted to become with a lot of personal fall-out.  It seemed like he was procrastinating to the newspaper editor and board, but really he was reflecting on all his options.

As I procrastinate I am really reflecting or am I in a trance created by my habit of indecision and doing?  Think about that.  Observe your own behavior as you go about your day!  We are all works in progress; some have the light on, others don’t!

Maybe it’s time for you to  reflect more and procrastinate less as you wear your BIG smile.

“It is a most mortifying reflection for a man to consider what he has done, compared to what he might have done.”    Samuel Johnson

“The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not to twist them to fit our own image.  Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.”  Thomas Merton

“I love the man that can smile in trouble, that can gather strength from distress, and grow brave by reflection.  ‘Tis the business of little minds to shrink, but he whose heart is firm, and whose conscience approves his conduct, will pursue his principles unto death.”  Thomas Paine

“It is not by muscle, speed, or physical dexterity that great things are achieved, but by reflection, force of character, and judgment.”  Marcus Tullius Cicero

©Copyright The Possible Self 2012

info@thepossibleself.com

Leave a Reply

