Dublin Workshops May 2013: Time to Reflect on Your Life

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAPhoto: Lough Mask, Tourmakeady, Mayo, Ireland.

‘Time to Reflect’  

www.thepossibleself.com

Due to the huge response to the Irish Times article in the Happiness supplement Saturday February 23rd 2013   http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/i-just-knew-she-would-be-great-company-1.1314373, we had a very successful inaugural workshop of The Possible Self ‘Me Program’ in Ireland.  The workshop was held in the Radisson Hotel on March 2nd 2013 and we had to turn people away.  We have now scheduled two further workshops for Ireland in May 2013:

1.  One Day Introductory Workshop in the Four Seasons, Simmonscourt Road, Dublin.  May 11th 9.00-18.00.  Maximum of 15 participants.

2.  A Five Day Residential Workshop in the Brooklodge & Spa Hotel in Co Wicklow.  May 12th-17th. Maximum of 12 Participants.

For further information and to receive a registration form please email:  info@thepossibleself.com.  See below what some of the participants had to say about the first group workshop in Ireland:

It really got me to focus on who was important in my life and what I was spending my time on, and boy did I get a wake up call, I am in the last third of my life so everything matters that I do now more than ever before.  I know where to put my energy and I know where I get my nurturing from too so that was great……M. R.

The Me Programme workshop was a real wake up call for me.   Having produced and seeing my ‘tree of life’, even after one day on how I got to my present position, I was really taken back by all I have achieved; what I did well and what I made a complete mess of.  I think I am more compassionate towards myself now than before which is a good thing because I was really hard on myself, which was not helping one bit.  I am already making small changes and am working together with another member of the workshop to keep us motivated and on course once a week.  B.M.

I had retired ten months ago and I think I was in shock ‘til now, not knowing what to do with myself and trying to do too much at once.  I am young and still vital in all areas of my life.  Doing my ‘tree of life’ got me to appreciate all I have done and lived through and I rediscovered what I truly love to do and what gives me, and those around me great pleasure.  I assessed my financial situation, I looked at the relationships that really matter to me and by the end of one days workshop I had the shape of a plan I am now implementing.  T.S.

My life was really a bit of a mess when I came to the workshop.  I was not managing any part of my life very well.  As Áínne said sometimes our ship is at sea with no captain, that was me, and there were a few holes letting the water in too.  As I went through the various years of my life on ‘my tree of life’ I gained confidence again from all I have done so far and what I am capable of.  I was once managing and enjoying my life more than I am now and I could see why that was.  I took the time to evaluate what was going wrong and how I was instrumental in creating the situation I was in.  Because I was working in a visual way I could draw a shape of how I wanted my life to be, and what it takes to make it happen.  It’s different than just talking about it.  I am the captain of my ship again and I am working on my finances and not hiding them away in the drawer, I am walking regularly, I am talking to the people who can help me and I am taking it day by day to manage my life in a more self-compassionate way. All that change happened in no more than four weeks.  I have booked the five-day workshop because I need to really get a handle on other parts of my life that I want to bring back to life, you can only do so much in a one day workshop and I need someone to guide me.  H.H.

This workshop was really great, it was practical, creative, enjoyable and most of  all I got a chance to reflect on my life, something I know I wanted to do for a long time.  I discovered that I was hugely appreciative of all that I have in my life and with some thought and action I could improve on the small things, as that is where I get my most pleasure.  I would recommend to everyone to go through The Possible Self process at some stage of your life, as it really gets you to think about your attitudes and what is important to you to live your life to the full.  S.O.N.

“Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.”  Søren Kierkegaard

“If I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.”  Gandhi

“Reflect upon your present blessings — of which every man has many — not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some.”   Charles Dickens

“I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.”  Bill Cosby

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.”  E. E. Cummings

“Show me a person who doesn’t make mistakes and I’ll show you a person who doesn’t do anything.”  Leonard Rubino

“Too many people are thinking the grass is greener on the other side of the fence, when they ought to just water the grass they are standing on.”  Amar Dave

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.”  Aristotle

“The starting point of all achievement is desire. Keep this constantly in mind. Weak desires bring weak results, just as a small fire makes a small amount of heat.”  Napoleon Hill

“Don’t wait for something big to occur. Start where you are, with what you have, and that will always lead you into something greater.”  Mary Manin Morrissey

“Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you, they’re supposed to help you discover who you are.”   Bernice Johnson Reagon

“If not us, who? If not now, when?”  Kennedy, John F.

Leave a comment